About Us.

Women Writers Queensland was originally part of the Australian Society of Women Writers, which was formed in Sydney in 1925. Groups in each state came under the umbrella of that body, with Queensland initially joining as a postal group in 1974, then as an incorporated association in 1982.

In 2000, Society of Women Writers Queensland was incorporated as a separate organisation after the sister states unanimously decided to disband the federal body.

History – In the Beginning

In 1925 the Imperial Press Conference Sydney hosted a conference for Visiting Writers and Journalists from the United Kingdom.  At that time women were excluded from the all-male journalists’ club.  This led to the wives of the delegates and the invited female delegates forming their own group which became The Society of Women Writers. (Dame) Mary Gilmore, Pattie Fotheringham, Mary Liddell and Isobel Gullett became the four Vice Presidents. Zara Aronson was Honorary Secretary; Agnes Mowie and Blanche d’Alpuget were Honorary Treasurers. Abigail Clancy was one of the founding committee’s fifteen members. 

In 1982 The Society of Women Writers Queensland was incorporated and Mocco Wollert became our first Queensland State President.

SWWQ Constitution – Click Here

The Alice Literary Award

The Alice Literary Award is a presented to an Australian woman who has made a distinguished, long-term contribution to Australian Literature. The award is in the form of a trophy and it is presented biennially. The winner is chosen after consultation with all sister states of the Society.

Find more information here.



Contact us Via Current Management Committee


         General enquiries –   

         President –           

         Vice President –     

         Secretary –               

         Treasurer –               

         Committee –     

Jan Wood :

Toni Risson : 

Virginia Miranda :

Indrani Ganguly :

Trudy Graham, Maureene Fries, Bernadette Ketter